At Bully Brew, as we’ve mentioned before, pets aren’t just pets: they’re a part of our family! In my family, birthdays are quite a big deal. Parties were had with friends and extended family until we reached high school and even now we still get a celebration with family that includes a day filled with things we love. My personal favorite part of my birthday is getting to choose whichever cake/dessert I want for that year and my mom is always willing to make it for me πŸ™‚

About 8 months ago, I was on the search for a dog of my own and found her in April of last year. I was looking for a Goldendoodle and I found a 5 month old female near St. Cloud, Minnesota and decided to drive and meet her to see if she was the one for me! Moments after meeting her I knew she was the buddy for me. I asked the owners to confirm her age for me again and they said she was 5 months old, born in mid-November. As soon as they said mid-November my ears perked up….I asked what day and when they told me November 16th and I had no choice but to take her home with me! My Luna and I share the same birthday!! All I could think about was how fun it would be to celebrate a birthday together each year with special treats and quality time.

This past week was our birthday and it was definitely a big one for Luna….her FIRST birthday!! I am fortunate that I was able to take the day off of work so we could have the whole day to do fun things together. We started our morning with a coffee run on our way to the dog park to enjoy the beautiful late fall weather. My mom bought Luna a special gift for her birthday: a special birthday collar! Here is Luna at the dog park in her fun, colorful collar.

img_1804

The rest of the day was filled with a trip to petco to pick out some brand new toys and a special birthday treat (an ice cream cone shaped cookie that was made out of peanut butter….her favorite!!) I also picked up a special “Happy Birthday” puppy treat for her at Bully Brew…you can never have too many sweets on your birthday πŸ™‚

It was Luna’s lucky day in more than one way…when I checked the mailbox the afternoon of our big day her “Bark Box” for the month of November arrived and she was instantly in love with her new toys and treats. Each box is themed with the month so it was only appropriate that this month had Thanksgiving styled toys and treat. If you want more information about Bark Box and how to get your dog signed up head on over to their website!

Here is Luna enjoy both her “turkey sandwich” and “pumpkin pie” toys from her box. It is so funny to see her playing with something that looks so much like real food!

All in all, Luna and I had a great day celebrating a birthday for both of us and we certainly got some good sleep following our big day of eating and outings πŸ™‚

If any of you have some great birthday traditions that you practice on your furry friends’s birthdays please let us know….we would like to add to our list!

With love and coffee,

Bully Brew

Leave a Reply

