One of my favorite things about traveling is trying out coffee shops that are local to the area.

I was recently on a storm chasing class trip through the Southern Plains, and one of the teaching assistants is ~almost~ as obsessed with coffee as I am. After driving from Grand Forks to Lawton, Oklahoma in 1 day (20 hours in a van with 7 other people), we were dying for a decent cup of coffee that wasn’t from a gas station. We ended up Seymour, Texas that next afternoon. While we were waiting for storms to start firing in the area, the TA and I were in desperate need of caffeine (it had been roughly 6 hours since the last gas station coffee). BEHOLD. In this tiny Texas town we were in, there was a coffee shop! Triple T. Latte!

15578626_594660510739544_999055487935711156_n

(PHOTO COURTESY OF TRIPLE T. LATTE)

I wish I could remember what exactly it was I ordered, but it was amazing. I know it was chocolatey! And even though it was nearing 90 degrees this particular afternoon, I drank my hot -whatever it was- out in the sun while my classmates and I played football behind the building. Such a great memory. If you are ever in Seymour, Texas be sure to check out this hidden gem.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

The next place I want to re-visit is 5th Ave Coffee Company and 6th Ave Diner in Naples, Florida.

For Spring Break 2017, my family and I took a trip to Florida. I fell in love with the city of Naples! Later in the evening one night, my dad and I were both ready for some coffee, so we walked around the block and found 5th Ave Coffee Company! I ordered a simple vanilla latte, and I believe my dad ordered a mocha (white mocha??). One of the best I ever had. I vividly remember how friendly the lady was who took our order. She was intrigued that we were from North Dakota.

img_9780

(http://foodienaples.com/inside-5th-avenue-coffee-6th-street-cafe/)

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Bad Ass Coffee Company is Naples was another one of my family’s favorites. I don’t remember exactly what I ordered, but it was iced with raspberry and dark chocolate. Once we ordered our drinks, we headed down to the beach and enjoyed the ocean breeze before the day became too hot.

place-15393

(PHOTO COURTESY OF BAD ASS COFFEE COMPANY, NAPLES)

                   – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – — – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

If you ever take a trip to the Cities, be sure to check out Groundswell in St. Paul. Before departing to FL for spring break, a couple of my friends and I were in the Cities for a concert. Earlier in the afternoon before the concert, we thought it would be fun to drive around and try local places. One place we stopped was Groundswell Coffee, and I fell in love. The atmosphere was so comfortable, especially for college students with the U of M. On the particular day we were there, we enjoyed our muffins and coffee and watched the snow slowly fall.

groundswell

(PHOTO COURTESY OF GROUNDSWELL, ST PAUL)

 

 – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

The next time you are on a vacation or weekend getaway, make sure you try out some local coffee shops in the area and show them some love, just like you show Bully Brew your love!

With love and Coffee,

Bully Brew ♥

Leave a Reply

